Maud Lewis House

When I was in kindergarten I day-dreamed of sneaking to my school building in the middle of the night to paint the outside of it in bright colors.

Maud Lewis’ house reminds me of this artistic fantasy. I doubt I’ll ever be compelled to decorate most of the surfaces of my living area. Yet, I like stepping into her world and letting my eyes travel over all the objects and areas she’s claimed. Her house says to me: if the materials that make up your world don’t fit the bill, you have the power to change them. We all have that power, to connect to the objects in our life in a new way.

maud lewis house interior

Leave a Reply

